About USBands

Contacts

Sean King
Executive Director
sking@usbands.org | (610) 314-7464

Eric James
Director of Event Operations
ejames@usbands.org | (610) 320-2730

Eric Kitchenman
Adjudication Coordinator/Ensemble Relations
ekitchenman@usbands.org | (610) 232-7562

Ginny Kraft
Ensemble Relations Manager
vkraft@usbands.org | (610) 379-2848

David Marshall
Ensemble Relations
dmarshall@usbands.org | (401) 210-1501

Jason Howard
Texas Ensemble Relations
jhoward@usbands.org | (325) 203-4163

Chloe Spencer
Event Operations Manager
cspencer@usbands.org | (610) 230-7891

Errick Prince
Traditional Showstyle Band Coordinator
eprince@usbands.org

Matt Chamberlin
Day of Event Coordinator Contact
(617) 504-1592

Jean Sowinski
Day of Event Tabulation Contact
(516) 459-2552

Dave Marden
Event Staff Liaison (Mid-Atlantic)
(973) 223-5310

Kate Salfelder
Event Staff Liaison (New England)
ksalfeldeer@usbands.org

Mike Stone
Judge Coordinator
mstone@usbands.org | (925) 215-0566

Lainey Braatz
Administration and Operations
lbraatz@usbands.org | (925) 215-0566

Shirley Dorritie
Director of Adjudication Philosophy
sdorritie@usbands.org

Tim Lautzenheiser
Senior Educational Advisor
tlautzenheiser@usbands.org

Frank Troyka
Senior Advisor for Educational Services
ftroyka@usbands.org


USBands

Since its first event in 1988, USBands has supported the development of scholastic performing ensembles through exceptional service, high quality adjudication and world class venues. Over the past 32 years, USBands has expanded to include thousands of bands in 150+ marching band, indoor and concert band events nationwide.

Our guiding principle is to provide ensembles, regardless of style, size and experience, an opportunity to be successful while allowing students to benefit from their involvement with scholastic music. The rules that govern USBands events are minimal by design. USBands prides itself on a user-friendly approach to support and service, in which directors and performers can fully enjoy the performance process without the concern of overly punitive rules and penalties.


Fall Marching

In October of 1988, The Cadets Drum and Bugle Corps hosted a marching band competition at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Reactions to that event were overwhelmingly positive and numerous requests were received to expand upon the offerings. In response to those requests and with the cooperation, input, and support of NY-NJ-CT tri-state area band directors and instructors, the Cadets Marching Band Cooperative (CMBC) was formed.

As the organization's footprint grew beyond the tri-state region, the US Scholastic Band Association (USSBA) debuted in 1997 to provide all students more opportunities to perform while representing their high schools and local communities coast-to-coast.

In recent years, the moniker USBands was introduced to encompass the wide variety of National, State, Regional and local events featuring performances by ensembles in over 25 different states throughout the country.

In addition to being the largest competitive service in the nation, USBands continues to pride itself on three pillars of excellence. It is our goal to provide all participating members with excellent and educational adjudication, outstanding customer service, and access to the best venues.


Winter Indoor

USBands Indoor began in the winter of 2010, with several events strategically placed around the Northeast.

Disciplines include marching, standstill and concert percussion ensembles, as well as color guard programs. In addition to the many high school programs who participate in the winter season, ensembles from middle and elementary schools are more than welcome. Primarily focused on growing scholastic units, in 2012 USBands expanded to allow independent units to perform and compete in the circuit.

Celebrating its eleventh season in 2021, USBands Indoor continues to pride itself on serving our participating schools year round, including color guard and percussion ensembles of all levels.

USBands Indoor programs strive to provide the same excellent experiences as we do in the fall. It is our goal to provide all participating members with access to quality venues, educational evaluation and the highest level of customer service.

For general information about USBands, please contact:
info@usbands.org | (925) 689-2918

Your browser is out-of-date.

Please update your browser to view this website correctly. Show Me Where To Get The Update

×